Janet StephensonAssociate Professor Janet Stephenson (Chair)

Janet is a social scientist with a particular interest in society's responses to environmental challenges. Janet is a founding trustee of NERI, a member of the Otago Energy Research Centre and Director of the Centre for Sustainability, University of Otago.

Gerry CarringtonProfessor Gerry Carrington

Gerry is an Emeritus Professor of the University of Otago, where he led the introduction of energy management programmes and was the founding director of the interdisciplinary Applied Science programme. He is also a founding trustee of NERI and past trustee of the Blueskin Resilient Communities Trust.

Kat McGrathProfessor Kate McGrath

Kate is Vice-Provost (Research) at Victoria University of Wellington. She is the Chair of the Board of VicLink Ltd, on the Board of Callaghan Innovation, and is also on the Boards of several start up companies. Previously she was Director of the MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology.

Ralph Sims

 Professor Ralph Sims

Ralph is Professor of Sustainable Energy and Director of the Centre for Energy Research, Massey University. He is a former lead report author with the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and a former senior analyst with the International Energy Agency (IEA).

Morgan WilliamsDr Morgan Williams

Morgan chairs the Cawthron Institute Trust,  the World Wide Fund for Nature in New Zealand and has a number of other roles in environment-focused organisations.  He was New Zealand's Parliamentary Commissioner for the Environment for 10 years and has held research, policy and leadership positions, including in the then Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.


Chief Executive


Simon ArnoldSimon Arnold

Simon is half-time at NERI. In the balance of his time he is MD of, Executive Director of Blended Fuel Solutions NZ Ltd and Nufuels Ltd, and convener of the Liquid Biofuels Interest Group of the Bioenergy Association of NZ.  He has had senior roles in public policy and  been active in business organisations including running the NZ Manufacturers Federation.